I need a new name!


… for a new Plasma Widget that is ;-)

I’ve just started implementing a mashup that lists music events going on your own location (from Last.fm) and adds links to Google Maps, Social Services etc.

But the beast needs a name as I think “Last.fm Events” is a tad too generic. It has to be a name that gives the user an idea of what the widget does, so it shouldn’t be too imaginatively – like say Plasma, Akonadi, Funambol etc. ;-) No offense intended :-)

BTW a name is also needed because I need to register at Last.fm to get an API key and I have to inform them about the applications name. It’s a bit premature for something that hasn’t been released even at Alpha level but that is in their ToS

There’s still a long way to go but here are some screenies as an appetizer for what can be expected:

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

Posted in Plasma. Tags: , , . 10 Comments »

10 Responses to “I need a new name!”

  1. tanghus Says:

    Evocation has been suggested by kudlaty

  2. Stu Jarvis Says:

    Hmm… ‘Muse’? (sounds a bit like music and can mean “a goddess that inspires a creative artist” or in this case a source of information to inspire you to go and see a creative artist)

  3. Arne Babenhauserheide Says:

    A little brainstorm:

    English phrases:

    What’s up?
    What’s Hot Here?
    Cool Stuff Around Me
    What shall I do tonight?
    Who’s playing here?
    Daily Koncert (I like the K ;) )
    Koncert finder
    NightLine music
    Where to Party?
    ListenLive
    LiveCatcher
    MusicTonight / Music Night

    Esperanto:

    Okazoj
    Okazilo (tool for events)

    Lokaj Okazoj (local events, also sounds a bit mischievish like Loki ;) )

    Okazo means event, but also “a chance”.

    • tanghus Says:

      Hi Arne.
      Thanks for notifying me on identi.ca

      Before I read this post I ran “Lokaj Okazoj” through Google Translator and it picked up that it was Esperanto but couldn’t translate it. Then I tried with Czech and it gave me “Footman Okazoj” :-D

      Thanks for all the suggestions. I’ll think about it for a couple of days.

      /Thomas

  4. Valorie Zimmerman Says:

    Might be boring, but at least it’s obvious: Local Concerts. Amarok has an applet which does something similar (no map though) called Upcoming Events.

    • tanghus Says:

      I wasn’t even aware that Amarok has such an applet even though I use it every day (v. 2.3.2) maybe it isn’t there.
      I think that an obvious name like that would be good if it was e.g. in a context like Amarok but for a standalone applet it should distinguish itself a bit more.

      I’m currently leaning against Evocation or maybe Evocator even though it’s a bit against my own argumentation ;-)

  5. Gallaecio Says:

    What about “Concerts Around” or “Music Around”?

  6. tanghus Says:

    I ended up with Evocation as suggested by kudlaty. Thanks for all the good suggestions.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

